Dave Duncan

Dave Duncan
Dave Duncan

Originally from Scotland, Dave Duncan lived all his adult life in Western Canada, having enjoyed a long career as a petroleum geologist before taking up writing. Since discovering imaginary worlds were more satisfying than the real one, he published more than sixty novels, mostly in the fantasy genre, but also young adult, science fiction, and historical. He was at times Sarah B. Franklin (but only for literary purposes) and Ken Hood (which is short for “D’ye Ken Whodunit?”)

His most successful works have been fantasy series: The Seventh Sword, A Man of His Word and its sequel, A Handful of Men, and six books about The King’s Blades.

He and Janet were married in 1959. They have one son and two daughters, who in turn are responsible for a spin-off series of four grandchildren.

He was a founding member of SFCanada, and was inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame.

His prodigious talent is sorely missed. But his legacy remains in his novels.

The Runner and the Wizard
The Eye of Strife
Eocene Station
One Velvet Glove
The Ethical Swordsman
Pillar of Darkness