Prix Aurora Awards 2013

It’s that time of year again when publishers scramble to ship books to awards committees, and nominate their titles for peoples’ choice awards.

In this latter category is Canada’s Prix Aurora Award. The Prix Aurora Awards are given out annually to honour the best Canadian science fiction and fantasy literary works, artwork, and fan activities from the previous year.

This year Five Rivers has several works eligible for recognition.

Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero, by Michell Plested

In the YA novel category: Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero, by Michell Plested.


 In the Short Fiction category:
Cainn, by H.A. Hargreaves, published in North by 2000+;

Director’s Cut

 The Director’s Cut, by Susan Forest, published in Immunity to Strange Tales; 

Anna’s Jar of Hurts

Anna’s Jar of Hurts, by J.W. Schnarr, published in Things Falling Apart.

Under the Artist category:
Jeff Minkevics, for his cover Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero
Jeff Minkevics, for his cover North by 2000+

Voting is easy. 

From January 1, 2013 through to April 15, 2013 any Canadian Science Fiction or Fantasy work conducted or produced in 2012 is eligible for nomination.

This year there are seven professional categories including a new one for YA Novels and four for fan achievements. A work is nominated for an Aurora Award by members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association (CSFFA). Any Canadian citizen or landed immigrant may join CSFFA by paying an annual due of $10 (either through Paypal, online credit card or by mailing in a cheque.)

Once nominations are finalized members will have access to our voter’s package, which will include e-versions of nominated works. The final ballot will be announced in early May. The awards will be presented in October at CanCon ( in Ottawa.

Follow these easy steps to nominate:

1. Renew your membership for 2013, if you have not already. Go to or click on the “Login / Nominate” link on the main page. Remember; if you joined CSFFA in the past then use your existing account. Please do NOT create a new account each year. If your email has changed you can log into your old account and change that information. If you don’t remember it there is a link on the membership page to send you your account information.

2. Once you have renewed, a link will appear to the online nomination form. Enter up to three nominations in each of the categories. Please tell us as much as you know about the entry, especially in the fan categories. Works written, performed released, etc. during calendar 2012 only are eligible. The Can Spec List located at contains some eligible entries but the list is not exhaustive so please feel free to nominate other works that meet the criteria, which can be found

If you prefer to be paper-based, there is a link on that page to the downloadable nomination form, which can be mailed in along with your renewal payment. If you can, please use the online form. Not only does it save trees, it also saves volunteer time and is more reliable.

Links to eligibility lists and rules about the awards can also be found on the membership page.