Dave Duncan’s Eocene Station shortlisted for the Endeavour Award

Five Rivers is pleased to announce Dave Duncan’s novel, Eocene Stationhas been shortlisted for the 2017 Endeavour Award.

Five novels written by writers from the Pacific Northwest are finalists for the 19th annual Endeavour Award.  The Award comes with an honorarium of $1,000.00.  The winner will be announced November 17, 2017, at OryCon, Oregon’s primary science fiction convention.

The finalists are:

  • Arabella of Mars, by Portland, OR, writer David D. Levine, Tor Books;
  • Dreams of Distant Shores, by North Bend, OR, wriiter Patricia McKillip, Tachyon;
  • Eocene Station, by Victoria, BC, writer Dave Duncan, Five Rivers Publishing;
  • Lovecraft Country, by Seattle, WA, writer Matt Ruff, Harper;
  • Waypoint Kangaroo, by Portland, OR, writer Curtis Chen, Thomas Dunne Books/St Martin’s Press.

The Endeavour Award honours a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers. The five highest scoring books then go to three final judges, who are all professional writers or editors from outside of the Pacific Northwest.

The judges for the 2017 Award are:

Ginjer Buchanan

In the early 1970s, Ginjer Buchanan moved from Pittsburgh, PA. to New York City where she made her living as a social worker, while doing freelance editorial work. In 1984, she took a job as an editor at Ace Books. She was promoted several times over the years and in 2007, became Editor-in-Chief, Ace/Roc Books.  In April of 2014, she retired. She is now enjoying sleeping late, reading a lot, watching an inordinate amount of television, and polishing the Hugo she won at Loncon, for Best Editor–Long Form.

John R. Douglas

John R. Douglas was born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  He moved to the United States and married fellow fan, Ginjer Buchanan in 1975. In 1978, he stumbled into a job in publishing and spent over twenty years working as an editor for four different major mass market publishers. Although he handled Science Fiction and Fantasy for all of them, he also edited mysteries, thrillers and other genre fiction and many kinds of non-fiction. He has been an editorial freelancer since late 1999 continuing to work with words in many different ways.

Andy Duncan

Andy Duncan’s stories have been honored with a Nebula Award, a Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award, and three World Fantasy Awards.  His third collection, An Agent of Utopia: New and Selected Stories, is upcoming from Small Beer Press. A native of Batesburg, S.C., and an alumnus of Clarion West 1994, he teaches writing at Frostburg State University in Maryland.”

The Endeavour Award is sponsored by Oregon Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (OSFCI), a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.

Congratulations and good luck to Dave, and all the other finalists. But, of course, we really, really hope Dave wins!

Dave Duncan